LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): OER by Discipline

OER by Discipline

Art Images for College Teaching The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes. While the images in this collection are believed to be of public domain works, there is a remote possibility that secondary works still in copyright may have been incidentally documented as well. If you decide to use any of this collection, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission.
COERLL: Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate Open Educational Resources (OER) (e.g., online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc.). In addition, COERLL aims to reframe foreign language education in terms of bilingualism and/or multilingualism. As such, all COERLL resources strive to represent more accurately language development and performance along dialectal and proficiency continua.
Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. The copyright status of items in DPLA varies. DPLA links to a wide variety of different materials: many are in the public domain, while others are under rights restrictions but nonetheless publicly viewable.
Getty Publications More than 300 to read and download for free.
Library of Congress Print and Photographs The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. The nature of historical archival collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. Whenever possible, the Library provides copyright information.
Open Humanities Press OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. All OHP publications are fully and rigorously peer reviewed.
Public Domain Review An online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas. The focus is on works now fallen into the public domain.
Smarthistory Smarthistory’s free digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging.

American Institute of Mathematics: Approved Open Textbook List Lists of open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
AMSER: Applied Math and Science Educational Repository AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
MyOpenMath An online course management and assessment system for mathematics and other quantitative fields. MyOpenMath’s focus is providing rich algorithmically generated assessment to support the use of free, open textbooks.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
Tough Talk: a Toolbox for Medical Educators An online toolbox of teaching resources developed for medical educators teaching ethics and communication. The toolbox includes common teaching challenges plus tips for recovering from them; optimizing small group dynamics; providing effective, honest feedback; helping clinicians develop and operationalize personal learning goals; and motivating engagement and self-assessment in reluctant participants.

Bio-Image Search Lane Medical Library’s Bio-Image Search enables discovery of biomedical images with Public Domain & Creative Commons licenses, aggregates biomedical images from many image sources, and displays the results in four groups, from broadest reuse rights to most limited reuse rights.
The Chem Collective The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
FreeTechBooks Database of Over 1,250 Free / Open Access Online Computer Science Books, Textbooks, and Lecture Notes.
InTech A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine with over 2000 ebooks available to date.
NanoHUB nanoHUB.org is the premier open and free platform for computational research, education, and collaboration in nanotechnology, materials science, and related fields. Our site hosts a rapidly growing collection of simulation tools that run in the cloud and are accessible through a web browser.
National Academies Press The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.
National Science Digital Library The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
The Periodic Table of Videos (University of Nottingham) Tables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - but this modern version has a short video about each one, plus other areas of chemistry.
PhET Science Simulations The PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

Noba-Psychology Modules A free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials in the field of psychology. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License.
InTech Social Science Open Textbooks A collection of over 250 open textbooks in the fields of business, management, economics, psychology, and the social sciences.