Face-to-face during Reference Desk hours
Call us on the phone at (714) 532-7714
Chat with us at LibChat
Email us at libweb@chapman.edu
Ask the KnowledgeBase
Highlighted below are the many e-book collections available through Leatherby Libraries. See the "Multidisciplinary" tab for brief descriptions and access to those e-book collections that cover multiple subject areas. The "E-Reference" tab offers a list of e-book collections that provide background and overview information on given research topics. The "Subject-Specific" tab covers a selection of e-book collections with a special focus.
eBook Academic Collection and eBooks on EBSCOhost
Both EBSCOhost collections provide access to full text e-books on multiple subjects. The eBook Academic Collection supports the following subject areas: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering, and other academic fields. The books are from some of the leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press, and others. In addition to university presses, the EBSCOHost eBook Academic Collection also selects texts from academic publishers that include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd.; Sage Publications, Ltd.; and John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
At the search screen, enter terms in the search boxes to locate books on your topic.
At the results page, you may choose to read books online (PDF Full Text) or offline (Download). Downloading is the same as checking out a book and has time limits for access. A newer e-book format, EPUB, has also become available for current content.
ACLS Humanities E-book - American Council of Learned Societies
From various Area and Historical Studies, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Literary Criticism, to Sociology, this database comprises more than 4,000 full-text, cross-searchable e-books. Once inside the database, select the "Search" option to visit its search screen to locate e-books related to your topics. Contents can be downloaded in PDF.
Oxford Scholarship Online - Oxford University Press
Our current subscription to Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to select full text e-books in the areas of Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, and Social Work. Once a subject is selected, locate the "Narrow Your Choices" area to check the Unlocked, Free, and Open Access options for full text availability.
Oxford Scholarship Online: A short guide (YouTube video | 2:31)
How to Use Oxford Scholarship Online (YouTube video | 9:21)
Springer eBook Collection - Springer Publishing
Our current subscription provides select access to Springer eBooks in Behavioral Science and Business & Economics for the years 2005 - 2010 and Springer eBooks in Earth & Environmental Science for the years 2009 - 2010. Uncheck "Include Preview-Only content" for full text titles. Each title offers full text search capability and can be downloaded in PDF.
Collection descriptions taken from Leatherby Libraries and publisher websites.
Blackwell Reference Online - Wiley-Blackwell
Blackwell Reference Online consists of reference volumes in Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas such as Art, Business and Management, Communication and Media Studies, Cultural Studies, Economics, History, Literature, Medicine, Psychology, and Sociology.
Blackwell Reference Online Guided Tour
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Cengage
Gale Virtual Reference Library consists of a collection of reference sources covering Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Medicine, and Social Science. You may conduct keyword searches throughout the entire collection or within a specific publication.
Library only has access to the Asian Studies, Health and Social Care, Philosophy, and Communication and Media collections. To access these in full text, select the subject heading in the middle of the page, then make sure the box for "Full access only" under "Filter my results" is checked.
SAGE Knowledge - SAGE Publications
You may access SAGE’s full text encyclopedias and handbooks online in areas such as Business & Management, Communication & Media Studies, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Health & Social Care, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, and Sociology.
Please note: At the results screen, on the right, select "Available to me" under the "Availability:" area to view full text titles.
Collection descriptions taken from Leatherby Libraries and publisher websites.
AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy
Both AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy provide medical education and clinical practice information such as medical textbooks, patient case files, multimedia resources, and student self-assessment for exams. Drug information and patient education handouts can be found in both databases as well. E-books are listed under the "Readings" section.
AccessMedicine Webinar (YouTube video | 53:23)
Business Expert Press Digital Library - Business Expert Press
From supply and operations management, international business, social media, to marketing strategy, this database offers e-books access to Business Expert Press's 2010-2014 collection. Click on the "View your institution's BEP e-books" button to view full, downloadable e-books.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward and is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Select "Books" from "Content Type" option to browse available e-books. Each title can be downloaded in PDF.
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences - Morgan & Claypool Publishers
Colloquium Digital Library comprise colloquia covering life sciences, cell and molecular biology, and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Written by a prominent contributor to the field, each colloquium synthesizes an important research or development topic, providing book-length treatments (about 100 pages) on topical subjects.
Emerald eBooks - Emerald Publishing
This multidisciplinary e-book collection provides access to the Emerald Business, Management, and Economics eBook Series Backlist Library Collection and the Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Backlist Library Collection. Select specific subject under the "Browse by Subjects" area to view available titles.
Health Library - Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins
The Health Library's Integrated Pharmacy Collection covers everything from the pharmaceutical sciences to clinical rotations with authoritative texts, multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools. Select the "Texts" option to browse available e-book titles.
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - IEEE
You may find titles by browsing an alphabetical listing, entering keywords or a unique phrase, or glancing through subjects. Our subscription includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the years 1974-2010. When available, individual e-book homepages provide links to chapters in PDF format.
Searching with the IEEE Xplore Digital Library
PharmacyLibrary features content from the American Pharmacists Association's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources. E-books are available under the "Reference Library" option.
PsychiatryOnline - American Psychiatric Association
Offers an online collection of books from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and the DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science - Morgan & Claypool Publishers
This collection comprises e-books authored by experts in the fields of Engineering and Computer Science. Each “lecture” contains information on an important research or development topic. Content is available in PDF format with live links to references.
Collection descriptions taken from Leatherby Libraries and publisher websites.